Smocked dressSmocked dressTo keep myself out of trouble over the local Edinburgh bank holiday weekend, I have given my sewing machine a dust off and had a go at a simple smocked dress. The pattern/idea was taken from my latest craft purchase – How to make stuff – an alternative craft book.

The pattern was extremely simple – basically a rectangle with an optional A-line addition skirt. (I added the A-line but then regretted it and went over the seams again so that they were straight – there was just too much fabric for my already pear shaped hips!) The smocking itself was surprisingly addictive and satisfying, and dare I say it – looked quite professional.

Not sure if this style of dress suits me as it does add fabric to the hips – Vivienne Westwood bustle perhaps – will need to explore how to cut the lower skirt section to get less fabric – perhaps make the overall rectangle narrower to start with? However all in all I am pleased with the result as a first attempt…

Smocked dress

