I shared a table with a friend today at a craft fair at Barclay Place Church in Edinburgh. I had booked the table back in August through the organisers Edinburgh Craft Fairs. The cost was £28 for the table, so £14 each.

My offering included:

Knitted corsages with machine cord edges

corsages3.jpg

Felted crocheted corsages with beading

corsages2.jpg

Necklaces including felted beads

feltbead.jpg necklace4.jpg

Barbie accessory kilt pins in plastic bauble heart boxes

pininbox.jpg barbie-kilt-pin.jpg

Despite the efforts of the organisers to direct people into the fair (dressed up as 2 Father Christmas’s) the flow of visitors was disappointing – I think the fact that the main door was around the corner from the main street didn’t help. That said I made a respectable £75 turnover, covering the costs of the stall and my materials.

I really enjoyed the day, sharing a table meant there was lots of opportunity to speak to other crafters and I would like to thank Julie at the Queen Bea, annelousie, Zoe at Margin, Becs at CuCuu and Sunlight On Closed Lids for all their advice and good chat!

The fair was great for networking (I have been invited to take part in Christmas Market next Sunday) and getting tips on how to improve – for example www.moo.com was recommended for great value and professional business cards.

