As the deadline for our exhibition piece is rapidly nearing I have been focusing on making and embroidering my 21 pockets – making reference to the research suggesting that the average 30 year old woman in the UK owns 21 bags.

One of my most successful pocket designs was inspired by a historic pocket design on the V&A website using a combination of green threads which sing against the background of the orange of the Sainsbury’s plastic bag:

embroidered_pocket.jpg

I have embroidered a number of other pockets using applique based on my original drawing of knitted plastic bags, and machine embroidery using a combination of colours on my top and bottom threads to create a richer affect (not really coming through in the photos unfortunately). I also loosened the bobbin tension to create whip stitch and ensure that the bottom colour came through the top.

pocket-detail.jpg

As a jumble of pockets:

21_pockets.jpg

In more order:

21_pockets2.jpg

