I am so delighted that Clothkits has come back to life. I have clear memories of making pilgrimages to Lewes near Brighton with my mum in the 1980’s to buy piles of brightly coloured fabrics that had already been printed with patterns. The following weeks would then be a flurry of sewing activity and new kids clothes for me.

The new Clothkits has moved on with the times and offers some beautiful and quirky adults clothing designed by artists such as Rob Ryan and People Will Always Need Plates. I have been eying up the site with interest over the last few months and after payday last week treated myself to a Rob Ryan Halterneck dress.

The dress arrived promptly and was beautifully packaged in green and white tissue and a gorgeous polka dot green ribbon.

The kit included instructions, printed fabric, zipper, thread and a Clothkits label.

The pattern sizes 8-12 were printed on a thick cotton sateen cloth making it easy just to cut around the pattern pieces without any of the usually faff of messing around with paper patterns.

I am a size 10-12 normally and went for the 12 thinking that I could always make it smaller, however it fitted pretty snugly around the bodice and required not alterations. I have to admit that it did take me a wee while to put together but it was definately worth it.

Here is the finished front:

And back:

And a shot of what it looks like on:

I am really delighted with the end result and despite initial misgivings that the kit was a bit of an investment (for a student anyway!), I am definitely converted. The fabric is very high quality (although it does seem to fray quite easily so an over locker would be ideal!) and the design very unique – you are not going to find this dress on the high street in a hurry.

