Following on from the success of my clothkits dress, I bought a dress kit from Organic Clothing company Gossypium while on a trip down south to Lewes.

The kit came in a great cotton bag:

And included instructions, printed cloth, and thread:

Compared to the clothkits dress, this kit comes with more creative opportunities, with options to add a collar, placket, sleeves and dress frill:

The website claims that the dress can be made up in 2 hours. I think that I took at least double this! Although this did include some unpicking… I decided on a sleeveless version with a collar and no frill. Here is the front:

And the back with great contrast bias binding detailing:

To keep the length at the bottom and eliminate the need to turn up the hem and loose some of the pattern I made some additional bias binding out of the remaining fabric and finished off the bottom of the dress:

The dress is just the right length for wearing over skinny jeans, but I would definitely be tempted to buy a second kit in pink and red and make this into the longer dress including a frill with a great bird print. I am now thinking of adding some embroidery detailing to the pattern to make it extra special.

